Things I Have Learned Going from Bodybuilding to Powerlifting

A lot of you know that I decided to go into powerlifting after being a life long bodybuilder. I love it more than bodybuilding and have really gotten an education doing it. This is a partial list of the top of my head of things I have learned in my transition of the last several months:

The only limits are what you set on yourself. You have to readjust your perspective of what is heavy and what isn't. Setting limits on yourself is something I did when bodybuilding, but I have a new perspective on my limitations now.

Try and train with stronger people. This goes right along with the above statement. Before I started training with Joe, Bill and Gary I had a number in my mind of what was heavy for me......now seeing theset guys throw around weight has destroyed that image of heavy. Stronger people are also good to have as friends in case you need something moved.....right Gary?

Make sure you can trust your training partners. When squatting or benching you are relying on your partners to spot you and make sure you don't hurt yourself. If you don't trust them....your lifts will suffer.

A 5lbs Personal Record is better than no Personal Record.

When you do your Max Effort work, the strain when you do your max set is more important than getting the lift. The strain is what affects the CNS to recruit more muscle fibers.

Technique, technique, technique. Everyday I try and refine my technique. It is the most important thing in powerlifting. Look at it this way....if you are trying to squat 1200lbs....one technique flaw and you could be dead.

On Max Effort day do whatever you can to get the weight up....technique is reinforced more on DE day.

Speed is king. The faster and more explosive you become....the stronger you can become.

Explode all weights with maximum SAFE force. This goes for bodybuilders to. It recruits more muscle fibers and teaches the body to turn on the motor units quickly.