Strongman Training for Powerlifting Gains
By Michael Watkins
For www.EliteFTS.com

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The idea for this article began during and after preparation for my first Strongman meet. I had been powerlifting for just over two years and had never really given much thought to Strongman. While surfing the web, I came across a Strongman meet that was close to where I live. With only six weeks of training, I entered the Lake Cumberland Strongman Championship and had a blast competing with and against six other guys who were in our group. Altogether, there were 30–40 lifters, and even though I didn’t place, I ended the day on a positive note. I won’t give up powerlifting, but I do see more Strongman meets in my future.

Let’s get back to the article with a little background. As mentioned above, my powerlifting experience is limited to just over two years. I’ve been training since high school and took up powerlifting as a change from what I had been doing. I needed something different, and after turning thirty in May of 2005, I did my first powerlifting meet in October of that year. I competed raw in the 198-lb weight class, and despite a third place finish (really last because there were only three competitors in my division), I was hooked. Since then, I have continued to work toward my elite total competing in the 275-lb weight class while using single ply gear. I write this article not as an authoritative figure on training, nor an elite lifter or even a top Strongman competitor. I write this as an average trainee who, like many others visiting this website, is looking for additional knowledge to increase his total.