Starting Strength

With new and stronger squat suits and bench shirts hitting the market, more attention has been given to training the lockout. It seems most experts believe that since the lifter is doing most of the work at the top, then range of motion should be trained the most. Although common sense tells us that the suits and shirts will get us out of the bottom of the lift, I have modified my belief somewhat.

My bench has always been low, and it’s something I have struggled with since I began lifting. I started training using Westside methods around three years ago, and my squat and deadlift blew up. However, my bench press only went up 20–30 lbs. All of my board work continued to climb, but I still had no raw bench. In fact, there was a 70 lb difference just between my two-board and one-board. It made sense to me that as my raw bench went up, my shirted bench would go up. But, although I tried a few different things, I had little success.

I’ve always done speed work. I read over and over that if you cannot get out of the hole, you are too slow. My problem wasn’t speed; it was my strength. I press very fast, so fast that I either destroy the lift or it destroys me. I tried dynamic bench with mini-bands, chains, straight weight, with a pause, drop and catch, on the floor, nearly everything. Dynamic work had done wonders for my squat (400 lbs in three years), but it did nothing for my bench press. I soon found the long awaited answer.

Sometime around March, I was lucky enough to talk with Bill Gillespie (Liberty University). He explained to me his philosophy on the bench press. He believed that people did too much lockout work and needed to concentrate more on starting strength. His thought was that great starting strength plus knowledge of the shirt equaled gliding through the lockout. This made perfect sense to me.