Lift and Learn: The Downfalls of Bodybuilding

I started lifting weights at the age of 13. I recall the first day like it was yesterday! It was 2 weeks before 8th grade ended and I trekked down into my older brother’s room where he had a K-Mart bench, small straight bar and adjustable dumbbells. I carried Arnold’s Encyclopedia with me and followed the program of supersets. I supersetted everything! It was hilarious.

I was weak. I squatted using 55 lbs because that’s as much weight as I could lift over my head since I didn’t own a squat rack. I looked at the photo in Arnold’s encyclopedia and how it showed the correct / incorrect form for squatting. I trained three days a week; I did chest and back on the first day, legs the next and shoulders and arms on the third day. It was pretty basic.

Eventually, I joined the local YMCA. I would ride my bike there and back which was brutal during the hot summer days, especially after a leg work out that included back squats, front squats, leg presses and leg extensions. I did plenty of drop sets, forced reps and supersets as well. The set never ended on my own. I made sure that a person “spotted” me through an extra 2 or 3 reps on every exercise. This is what all the bodybuilding magazines told me to do. Plus, back then there was no such thing as the internet so my information was really limited.

I progressed through the years by copying programs from the magazines. I started splitting things up like this:

Monday: Calves, chest, biceps, abs
Tuesday: Legs, abs
Thursday: Calves, shoulders, triceps
Friday: Back, abs
Believe it or not, this program worked well. I got stronger and I got bigger and that’s all that counted to me. When Dorian Yates started growing by 25 lbs a year I figured I better rest more. So I trained every other day which meant some muscles didn’t get any “direct” work for 9 days! But still, I got stronger and bigger. Heck, this must be all I need if I want to be a great athlete, right?