Injury Avoidance
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Posted under Doug Daniels , Strength Training , Injury

The unfortunate thing about powerlifting is that injuries sometimes may be easier to come by than strength increases. Because of this, it’s important that we train with injury avoidance in mind. I didn’t want to write an article that got too deep in physiological terms and the like. Number one, I’m not a medical professional and number two, I never really got a lot out of knowing that my ‘vastas internalis was suffering from acute microtrauma’. That type of article has it’s value, don’t get me wrong, but I feel I can offer more to our readers by giving common sense information about how to avoid injuries.

Let’s look at some common causes for injuries, many of which can be avoided or at least greatly reduced. First is using improper form. I know we authors harp on this time and time again, but there’s a good reason for it. Improper form is probably the number one reason for injuries. There are two major reasons for improper form. The first is not knowing how to perform the lift, and the second results from the lifters desire to use more weight or get more reps.