BY SKYEFIRE

First the disclaimer: I am not a doctor or a professional, I just write stuff for role-playing purposes to pass the time. The post is not guaranteed for anything except taking up bandwidth! Having said that lately it seams that there is a lot of misinformation about how they work, what ester is preferable and so on. While there are no hard and fast rules here there are general principles that apply. This is an attempt to correct some of the big misconceptions.

First misconception: The weight of an ester determines the half-life. No, it is the length of an ester that AFFECTS the half-life. This is easily seen in the lack of difference in the half-lives of testosterone phenyl propionate vs. testosterone propionate. The first ester has a MW of 150 the second has a MW of 74. They have almost identical half-lives but the phenyl propionate has the weight of the phenyl group add to it but the same length of the propionate. It doesn’t make much of a difference.