Even before I was a coach I remember noticing my team mates getting infections or illness at the worst times during their training camps.

It was always the guys who fought on a monthly basis and worked like dogs each training session that were often the ones who got sick. I always wanted to know how this could be happening as you’d think they should be the ones in peak condition. When I began managing weight cuts and diets of fighters in 2012 the reasons behind it became more clear to me.

After doing my research I found loads of scientific proof that certain circumstances with training and diet can lead to immuno-comprimise, a reduction in immune function. Many of the studies I looked at demonstrated that athletes involved in intense bouts of training and competing were at high risk of reduced immune function resulting in upper repository infections. Among the finding I also discovered other factors likely to effect immune system function of athletes like nutrition, recovery and when cutting weight.

To make matters worse, the typical training environment makes Muay Thai athletes more susceptible to contract illness and infection because of the close person to person contact, confined spaces and sweaty dirty surfaces. If your immune system becomes weakened in these conditions your wide open to picking up common colds, influenza, and gym diseases like staphylococcus.

After running into this problem more than a few times with my athletes I began developing ways of preventing it occurring. Below are strategies:

Prevent Over Training