• Join Us!
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Join Us!

  • Get the Fitness Geared Forum App Now!
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions

Dutch Pharma

  • Join Us!
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Thinking about moving...need opinions
  • Join Us!
  • You have 1 new Private Message Attention Guest, if you are not a member of Fitness Geared - Body Building & Fitness Community, you have 1 new private message waiting, to view it you must fill out this form.
  • Amused
  • Angry
  • Annoyed
  • Awesome
  • Bemused
  • Cocky
  • Cool
  • Crazy
  • Crying
  • Depressed
  • Down
  • Drunk
  • Embarrased
  • Enraged
  • Friendly
  • Geeky
  • Godly
  • Happy
  • Hateful
  • Hungry
  • Innocent
  • Meh
  • Piratey
  • Poorly
  • Sad
  • Secret
  • Shy
  • Sneaky
  • Tired
  • Wtf
  • Thanks Thanks:  0
    Dislikes Dislikes:  0
    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Thread: Thinking about moving...need opinions

    1. #1
      tn94z's Avatar
      tn94z is offline Platinum
      Points: 31,212, Level: 100
      Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
      Overall activity: 0%
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Geeky
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2005
      Posts
      5,804
      Points
      31,212
      Level
      100
      Rep Power
      125

      Default Thinking about moving...need opinions



      • Get the Fitness Geared
        Forum App Now!
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions

      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      The town I currently live in is great and I have lived here my entire life. Everyone knows me and knows my family. I work for AT&T currently. I am thinking about moving to a bigger city. I am back and forth at the moment. Here are my pros and cons:

      -Pros-
      If I take a new job, I can make 25-30k more per year (have already had a few offers, but of course I wasn't ready to move yet).
      My wife's goal was to work as a nurse at a specific hospital in the new city
      The schools in the county we would move to are the number 1 schools in the state....still public.
      There is a TON more stuff to do for entertainment in this area as well.
      Selling the house would actually put me in a position to be debt free after using some of the profit to pay off some bills. I have good equity built up.

      -Cons-
      We will be further away from our family but still only about 2 hours away
      If I leave my current employer, I'm leaving over 12 years of service
      Just moving my step son to a new school system and away from his friends
      My step son will be further away from his dad but my wife has full custody

      That's just a few things I have been thinking about. I can probably stay with my employer and just relocate but the money won't be as good as the offers I have had. My wife and I rarely have time to hang out with our friends right now so we wouldn't be missing much there. I'm just afraid that if we decide to move, that it will be a mistake. But on the other hand, turning down the higher pay and stuff could be a mistake as well. I have a friend that left our company and took another position at one of the companies that has made me an offer. He says it's the best decision he's ever made. Over the past couple of years, I have watched quite a few people leave our company for more money.

      Here is the thing, I am a VoIP guy and have a few Cisco certifications. I LOVE working with in that area and I just don't get the hands on in my current position. With that being said, I can tell my boss I want this other position and I will get a 10% raise, get more hands on with this stuff, but I will be management instead of craft which has a little worse insurance amongst other things.

      When my wife and I were first discussing this, I was 100% set on moving and leaving the company and making more money. But now that we are actually thinking of putting the ball in motion....I'm starting to question myself. And just as a side note, we are all on board with moving so it's not anything that I'm having to sell to the family.

      Any suggestions or opinions or any other things I need to think about?
      "He woke up because I kept punching him in the face." --Thiago Alves

      "I'm telling you, once your car's been stolen, it never runs the same again. It's like a guy sleeping with your girl. He leaves his mark all over her."- Drama (Entourage)

    2. #2
      Born2Juice4Ever's Avatar
      Born2Juice4Ever is offline Platinum
      Points: 10,843, Level: 68
      Level completed: 99%, Points required for next Level: 7
      Overall activity: 8.0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Oct 2004
      Location
      In a place you would not understand
      Posts
      659
      Points
      10,843
      Level
      68
      Rep Power
      71

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      hey bro,

      I think that most of us have been at this crossroad at some point or another.
      I think that most if NOT must of us have felt that nervouness and feeling of failure.

      The great thing about this situation is that you and your family are looking for better ways of life, and not just seclude yourselves to a life you may not be fully happy in.

      the truth is that, no matter where you are in life you may always have those "pros and cons" where the cons may make you question the pros (the good stuff)

      What I have learnt in life is to trutthfully appreciate and respect my surroundings, where the grass may not always be green at the other side of the fence. At the same time taking well calculated risks that will pay off in the end.



      Without a plan, you plan to fail bro.

      As hard as this may be, my personal adivse is this:

      you are not alone anymore, you have a family to look after. Perhaps making such a big move could be very risky. IF I were single and with no children (I have no children) making a move like that would not be so hard.


      The only way to achieve success is to undertake big risks and this is one of those decisions that only you and your family can make.

      I am on your side and I from the heart wish nothing but solid results in this venture.



      B2J4E
      A river cuts through rock, NOT because of its strength, but because of its consistency...so let's f----ing do this bros!!!

      Born2Juice4Ever biochemically designed for the people, by the people!

    3. #3
      sensitivenips's Avatar
      sensitivenips is offline Platinum
      Points: 6,452, Level: 52
      Level completed: 51%, Points required for next Level: 98
      Overall activity: 0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      1,166
      Points
      6,452
      Level
      52
      Rep Power
      42

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      i understand your concern, but i think you pretty much needed to write it out as a way of telling yourself you need to move. its not like your moving to another state, your 2 hours away from your family, i would LOVE to be just 2 hours away from my family but im not, i got to hop on an expensive plane to see them once a year. the pro's here outweigh the cons by a large margin. having a better education for your son outweighs current friends, and whatever age he is at this will be a good personality strengthener for him to jump out of his comfort zone and meet new people. change is exciting whether its exhilarating or really scary. this will definitely be a better decision for your family, but again you didnt need me to tell you that it was already written out in your post.

      good luck g, i wish you the best when it comes down to decision making time.

    4. #4
      tn94z's Avatar
      tn94z is offline Platinum
      Points: 31,212, Level: 100
      Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
      Overall activity: 0%
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Geeky
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2005
      Posts
      5,804
      Points
      31,212
      Level
      100
      Rep Power
      125

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      Thanks guys. Very good points!!
      "He woke up because I kept punching him in the face." --Thiago Alves

      "I'm telling you, once your car's been stolen, it never runs the same again. It's like a guy sleeping with your girl. He leaves his mark all over her."- Drama (Entourage)

    5. #5
      mikeyg51's Avatar
      mikeyg51 is offline Platinum
      Points: 10,868, Level: 69
      Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 382
      Overall activity: 0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends
      is DaMan
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      1,250
      Points
      10,868
      Level
      69
      Rep Power
      54

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      I really like the pros and cons you have made...being honest with yourself is huge in making a decision such as this...Here is my suggestion: see if you can actually obtain a job with the higher salary...if so, and they will definitely hire you, go for it! Do your due-dilligence and find an affordable house, take your time, etc, but I say move brother! I have had this nervousness before as well and I am glad that I took the plunge personally!

    6. #6
      tn94z's Avatar
      tn94z is offline Platinum
      Points: 31,212, Level: 100
      Level completed: 0%, Points required for next Level: 0
      Overall activity: 0%
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Geeky
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2005
      Posts
      5,804
      Points
      31,212
      Level
      100
      Rep Power
      125

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      Quote Originally Posted by mikeyg51 View Post
      I really like the pros and cons you have made...being honest with yourself is huge in making a decision such as this...Here is my suggestion: see if you can actually obtain a job with the higher salary...if so, and they will definitely hire you, go for it! Do your due-dilligence and find an affordable house, take your time, etc, but I say move brother! I have had this nervousness before as well and I am glad that I took the plunge personally!
      Thanks for the advice man. Yeah, the job situation is number priority for sure. We actually want to sell our current house regardless of this decision so hopefully everything will time out accordingly. The offers I have had so far, they seemed to be flexible with hiring and then allowing you so much time to get your house sold and moved into a new house before having to be in the office every day as well as offering assistance in making the move. Whether or not those offers are there when they need to be is another thing.
      "He woke up because I kept punching him in the face." --Thiago Alves

      "I'm telling you, once your car's been stolen, it never runs the same again. It's like a guy sleeping with your girl. He leaves his mark all over her."- Drama (Entourage)

    7. #7
      mikeyg51's Avatar
      mikeyg51 is offline Platinum
      Points: 10,868, Level: 69
      Level completed: 5%, Points required for next Level: 382
      Overall activity: 0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience PointsGot three Friends
      is DaMan
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      1,250
      Points
      10,868
      Level
      69
      Rep Power
      54

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      great to hear bro! Knowing that you could definitely get the job is a great thing because then the move will be that much easier...all too often ppl quit before having a definite offer lined up...And knowing you won't actually lose on your current house is nice too since the market is only just now starting to rebound!

    8. #8
      wutlisstrice's Avatar
      wutlisstrice is offline Platinum
      Points: 8,572, Level: 62
      Level completed: 41%, Points required for next Level: 178
      Overall activity: 0%
      Achievements:
      Got three FriendsFirst 1000 Experience Points
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Cool
       
      Join Date
      Aug 2012
      Posts
      1,562
      Points
      8,572
      Level
      62
      Rep Power
      45

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      i like the pros very much

    9. #9
      guage's Avatar
      guage is offline Platinum
      Points: 14,472, Level: 78
      Level completed: 6%, Points required for next Level: 378
      Overall activity: 0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience Points
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      Hungry
       
      Join Date
      Dec 2012
      Posts
      1,819
      Points
      14,472
      Level
      78
      Rep Power
      75

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      10 years ago I packed my truck and moved out of state. I have no regrets but its all about what you got now and what you want later. if sticking around wont get you where you want to be , GO. the best part is now I know I can go anywhere and do anything if I so make the choice because the fear is gone

    10. #10
      apbt549's Avatar
      apbt549 is offline Platinum
      Points: 13,368, Level: 75
      Level completed: 30%, Points required for next Level: 282
      Overall activity: 29.0%
      Achievements:
      First 1000 Experience Points
      This user has no status.
       
      I am:
      ----
       
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      1,150
      Points
      13,368
      Level
      75
      Rep Power
      77

      Default Re: Thinking about moving...need opinions

      • Get the Fitness Geared
        Forum App Now!
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions

      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      • Thinking about moving...need opinions
      I will say it seems the pro's out weigh the cons on this one.. like others have said its hard to move but look at what your getting.. I worked for a company for 9yrs and our compition wantd to hire me which was right down the street it was scary for me to move to that company still in the same town but it has been the best thing I've every done.. has worked out great.. that's also a big pay jump.. you might want to check on housing prices and other living expenses to make sure the more money doesn't come with more expenses ..

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    StraightUpKratom468x60
    Join us
    About us
    www.Fitnessgeared.com is a Bodybuilding Fitness health & Training Discussion forum for all levels from beginner to advanced. We offer everything from Nutrition, Supplements, Fat Loss, Weight Training, Dieting, to achieve your goals to get in the shape you want.